The life aquatic…

I came across a mermaid lair on one of my early Second Life adventures and knew at some point I’d return and join my watery sisters.

Luckily for us, Natalia has already written an excellent post on becoming a mermaid (and make sure you check out her wonderful video clip!) with all the starter-information you could need.

I purchased my tail, hooked up the animation override (not that i really understand what it does!) and dived in to the blue depths.

Mermaid - brunette

Here I am, a mermaid at last! I’m wearing my new ‘Starlet’ hair I bought from Diversity Hair. It’s a lovely style but not right, I think, with the pink of my tail.

So, and this is one of the reasons why I love SL so much, a quick sort around in my inventory and…

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

…a blond mermaid (hair also from Diversity), and I think this style/colour fits just right.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I especially like how the flowers work with the hair, very mer-like I think. I can’t remember where I bought the flowers but I may well have to return (I must have the damn LM somwhere…)

There’s an interesting entry in Wikipedia on Mermaids that includes the following quote:

“They were known to sing sailors to their deaths, like the Siren, or squeeze the life out of drowning men, while trying to rescue them.”

So, we’re not just a pretty face and tail…

Just to emphasise the point, here’s an MP3 of an British folk band called The Stationary Willberries playing a traditional song called ‘The Mermaid’:

The Mermaid

‘Twas a Friday morn when we set sail
And our ship not far from the land
When we did espy a fair pretty maid
With a comb and a glass in her hand
Her hand, her hand
With a comb and a glass in her hand

And the raging seas do roar
And the stormy winds do blow
And we jolly sailor boys were up, were up, were up
And the landlubbers lying down below, below, below
And the landlubbers lying down below

And up spoke the captain of our gallant ship
Who at once our peril did see
I have married me a wife in fair Boodle town
But this night she a widow will be
Will be, will be
But this night she a widow will be

And then up spake our little cabin boy
And a fair-haired lad was he
I’ve a father and mother in fair Salford town
And this night they will weep for me
For me, for me
And this night they will weep for me

And then three times around went our gallant ship
Three times round went she
For the want of a long boat they both went down
And they sank to the bottom of the sea
The sea, the sea
And they sank to the bottom of the sea

So, all you sailors, navy boys, corsairs and wannabe pirates, just you treat us with some respect…or else…

~ by catrin23 on January 1, 2007.

11 Responses to “The life aquatic…”

  1. Hi!
    I bought the same mermaid outfit. šŸ˜‰

  2. Ahh and now I see why you love Silky so much! It looks fantastic on you! šŸ™‚ As does that mermaid outfit!

  3. Hello Ana, yes it’s a lovely outfit isn’t it? And I may have to go back and buy some more. C

  4. Thanks for the kind comment Aleri. Yes, Silky is perfect for Mermaids, perhaps you should market it as that! šŸ˜‰ C

  5. Yay! You are a mermaid! šŸ™‚ Heehee welcome to the secret society of mermaids šŸ˜› Of course, there are no mermaids…officially *wink*

    I love your hair with the flowers! Its really really pretty!

    Oh, and yes, mermaids are sirens. The word for mermaid in Spanish and Italian is sirena. So it is our duty to lure unsuspecting men to their doom! šŸ˜› Heeheehee

    Let me know when you and Sorcha have a moment and we can go explore all the secret mermaid haunts šŸ™‚

    Oh…there are no such things as mermaids…I forgot…

  6. oh but Natalia, there are such things as mermaids, I know, I’ve swam with them!

  7. Cannot wait for the next meeting of the secret society of mermaids! How about this weekend?

  8. How about tonight? C šŸ˜‰

  9. I’m wearing the mermaid outfit to Model Contest 2007. šŸ˜‰

  10. what is Caterin?? it looks cool šŸ™‚

  11. is this thing like sims how did u make the caraters?? i don’t get it?? how do you make your own account?? i want to know because it looks cool?? is it like a game if not then what is it?? šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
