Return to the House of Tunes

I received a friendly comment from Maladrina, one of the co-owners of the House of Tunes blues club with regard to my rather scathing gig review back in December of last year.

Maldrina advised that the venue had undergone a refit and mentioned something about ‘delicious BBQ from the grills’, the latter in particular fired me with a determination to go back and check out the changes.

And what changes they are! I’m pleased as anything to announce that the House of Tunes has transformed itself from a gusty aircraft hanger into a cheering, feel-good venue. Even at 8.30am PST the place was occupied by half a dozen (or so it seemed) busy Dutchmen, smoking spliffs and jumping around the stage.

I quickly settled down at the keyboard and joined in a jam session.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I’m not used to playing in a band but this was great fun. The boys rocked hard, Mr Guitar whipped up some wicked licks while Senor Drums amazed us all with his wild Keith Moon impersonations (i.e. the ability to down a beer, smoke a doobie and hit the skins…all at once!).

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

After the session ended I retired to the bar for a refreshing beer, actually, the HOT boasts two bars, which gives it at least two extra points in my book.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

The back of the venue overlooks the sea and this is where the promised BBQ lay in wait. Luckily the ‘munchies’ hadn’t yet kicked-in for the Dutch boys and I was able to gorge myself on the lovely chops and jerked chicken…oh mama!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

After the enjoyable excesses of the visit I had to lie down for a nap, and yes, the HOT provides just the thing:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

So, what can I do but give the House of Tunes 10 out of 10 for everything. I will return soon, there’s no doubting that!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Find the House of Tunes in Whitlock (206, 76, 101)

~ by catrin23 on January 15, 2007.

8 Responses to “Return to the House of Tunes”

  1. Hi! Found a piano at Luminous Island… 😉

  2. Thanks Ana, I’ll check that one out. Good luck in the Model Contest 2007!

  3. Looks like my kind of place! Thanks for writing about this! I’ll be sure to check it out!

  4. Hey Sorcha, let’s check it out together sometime, we could start a band! 😉

  5. Wow Caterin, 2 bars and BBQ! 🙂 I really have to go check it out 🙂

  6. […] House of Tunes has been re-developed into one of the finest music venues in Second Life.  See my Return to the House of Tunes post for a full […]

  7. http://www.DemonaMortiss.com

  8. check out http://www.DemonaMortiss.com you will like it.

Leave a Reply

 
