Homage to Barcelona

A place I love to visit is Barcelona’s Plaza Real, where I often go just to relax and unwind with a coffee and cigarette..

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

It’s a pretty much faithful reproduction of the First Life Catalan city, except for the absence of junkies and patrolling police cars. Though knowing Second Life I wouldn’t be surprised if both turned up one day!

The sim’s focal point, and hub of activity, is the spacious café that falls out onto the plaza itself. It’s a great place to just sit and watch the world go by.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Most people in the plaza are Spanish speakers and provide an excellent opportunity to practice one’s rusty languages skills. I recently chatted with a friendly chap from Valencia for ten minutes before my outrageous abuse of the past tense uncovered my nationality!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

~ by catrin23 on February 27, 2007.

7 Responses to “Homage to Barcelona”

  1. When I attempted to speak Spanish to some guy in SL, he told me I speak perfect Catalan.LOL. Anyway, that looks like such a cool place, I’ll deffinitely go to check it out soon. Maybe you could even show me if you feel like it 🙂

    Your Bailey

  2. Sure, let’s go for a coffee! I’ll IM you inworld. So you speak Catalan? Que bueno! 😉

  3. Be sure to hear the live music at The Cafe in Barcelona — they have some really great performers!

  4. Hola, guapa! The square is exacly like the real one except for the fountain in the middle and the restaurants (with tapas – huummm) all around. The Rambla lacks all the people selling all types of things…
    But, I love the idea of a Barcelona sim!! 🙂

  5. Dear Caterin,
    It seems such a nice place I must try it sometime.

    Taimi

  6. See you all in Barca! Love C. xxx

  7. Street artists at Puerta del Angel are incredible

Leave a Reply

 
