Piano 45 – Meatspace Jazz club

I found this venue via the Jazz Enthusiasts group. Despite its somewhat unappealing name, the Meatspace Jazz club is a fine venue. Situated on the beach front, it’s cosy, light and airy.

On my arrival I bumped into the owner and we had the following cheering chat:

You: I go to too many ‘jazz’ venues that play this ‘smooth’ jazz stuff
Kyle Beltran: oh GOD, believe me, I know
You: so please tell me you don’t play elevator jazz
Kyle Beltran: No way!
You: cool
Kyle Beltran: We built this place as the ANTI-smooth jazz club
You: oh, my kind of place
Kyle Beltran: 🙂

So, there you go. One slight issue for me is all the events take place at around 8pm which in GMT terms is very early in the morning…hmmm, we’ll see.

It also has a piano!

Caterin

To show my happiness at finding a non-smoothy jazz joint I played a brace of Monk numbers, including one of my all time favourites ‘Ruby My Dear’.

Caterin

Another nice touch about the club is they actively encourage smoking, and I happily puffed away on my Winston Red (softpack of course!).

Want to know more about this piano madness of mine? See this page.

~ by catrin23 on April 20, 2007.

5 Responses to “Piano 45 – Meatspace Jazz club”

  1. Caterin!
    I found the perfect dress for you to wear to B and I’s wedding, it’s a little short, in mmmmmm places BUT you can rest easy knowing its not something I wouldn’t wear if it was your special day!

    Kisses T

  2. A REAL JAZZ place? Send me the LM, book me a table!!

  3. Taimi: Mucho appreciated but have already picked said gown with the approval of yr fiance. Kisses, etc. Cx

    Marion: Check the search, see you down there soon!

  4. Oh, my you actually found an anti-smooth jazz place?

    I’m TPing there right THIS SECOND.

  5. We have decided to open our POWERFUL and PRIVATE web traffic system to the public for a limited time! You can sign up for our UP SCALE network with a free trial as we get started with the public’s orders. Imagine how your bank account will look when your website gets the traffic it deserves. Visit us today: http://voxseo.com/traffic/

Leave a Reply

 
