Piano 50 – Ryder Asylum

I saw a piece about Ryder Asylum in Second Life Insider and noticed a piano lurking in one of the snapshots included in the article. Oh my, my, that would do nicely for piano number 50.

I knew I’d need some back-up (my mind swam with images of demented inmates chasing me through corridors etc etc) so I IMed Bailey and badgered her (‘bullied’ some might say) into joining me on the expedition.

‘You must wear dark glasses’ I warned her ‘You’ll be finished if the inmates see you squint, that makes them really, really angry’.

We met up outside the imposing edifice of Ryder Asylum just as it was getting dark. It’s a wonderfully gaunt and sinister building, that made me think of HP Lovecraft and lurking, unnamed entities. My elven sword suddenly felt inappropriate and I longed for some more up-tempo fire-power.

We started (naturally) in the basement and quickly found ourselves trapped in a padded cell

Caterin

Bailey turned on her radar thingy, ‘there’s someone, or some thing, 30 metres away’ she whispered.
‘Our only chance’ I replied ‘Is to out-mad the mad, act crazy-crazy’. I started howling, shouting in tongues, reciting Coldplay lyrics. Bailey checked the radar,
‘they’ve left’ she said, the relief evident in her voice.

We TPed out of the padded room, though for Bailey it was a case of out of the frying pan and into the fryer as she ended up in another cell.

Caterin

‘TP me out Cat’ she mewed,
‘only if you use the lav’ I replied, gesturing at an unpleasant looking device at the back of the cell.
‘Bitch’ Bailey spat.
I didn’t want to alienate the girl with the piano caper still unfolding, so I relented and released her from captivity, ‘the doctors said I shouldn’t do this’ I told her, ‘I must warn you, I’ll be on my guard’. B smiled wanly.

Being of central European origin, B needs to visit a graveyard every couple of days, so we wandered out of the main building and onto the gloomy burial grounds.

Bailey curled up in a cardboard box with some Kundera while I mediated on the unfound piano, hoping for a vision, some kind of clue to its whereabouts.

Caterin

Like in any good horror story, we decided to split up. I had a hunch the piano would be on the top floor so I flew upwards, climbed in through a window and dropped down onto the blood-strewn floor of an abandoned ward.

And there it was.

Caterin

Half hoping some inmates would gather around and do the chicken-dance, I played ‘The Lunatics Have Taken Over the Asylum’ by the Fun Boy Three.

Bailey joined me for a duet and we played ‘Crazy Man’ by Freakwater and ‘Psychotherapy’ by the Ramones.

Caterin

With our mission completed we retired to the hospital bar for several large bloody marys.

Want to know more about this piano madness of mine? See this page.

~ by catrin23 on May 26, 2007.

4 Responses to “Piano 50 – Ryder Asylum”

  1. Hi Caterin

    WordPress newbie calling. Can you please tell me how I can upload my own pictures on top of the page?

    All the best,
    Therese

  2. I found out 🙂 Just gotta stop being so impatient.

  3. Heh, that was quite an experience. You wouldn’t have gotten out of the cell without me, so don’t you dare trap me somewhere ever again!!! I might use my archery set if you force me to…

  4. These are some great screenshots and what an interesting-looking place! Got to check this one out.

Leave a Reply

 
